Eating gluten free extends far beyond the foods you choose. Another area you need to be cognizant about is your kitchen, especially if non-gluten free foods are also being consumed - find out how to prevent cross contamination here
Eating gluten free extends far beyond the foods you choose. Another area you need to be cognizant about is your kitchen, especially if non-gluten free foods are also being consumed. Here are SupermarketGuru’s tips for keeping your kitchen cross contamination free.
Get duplicates of all kitchen tools that could harbor gluten. Mark all gluten free items in a different color or use entirely different looking tools. This will ensure that all of your tools are separate and do not contain small bits of gluten. Don’t forget wooden utensils, and rolling pins – both are porous and can harbor gluten.
Toasters and toaster ovens.
If you’ve ever toasted gluten containing bread or bagels in an upright toaster– it’s a sure thing you will need to get a new one. Toasters are extremely hard to fully clean, if not impossible! In general toaster ovens might be better than toasters as you can use a strictly gluten free rack for gluten free items, and avoid spending extra money on another upright toaster.
Strainers, flour sifters and colanders.
Cleaning these items fully is often problematic, since pastas and gluten often get stuck in the small holes – therefore it’s an excellent idea to have duplicates of these items. This peace of mind will wash any worries away!
Due to cuts and grooves that can develop in cutting boards, both plastic and wood, it’s best to get strictly gluten free cutting boards, label them appropriately and keep separate.
Baking sheets and pans.
Baking sheets and pans often develop cuts and grooves. For baking sheets, one option is to use parchment paper with existing pans when baking gluten free. If you want to be completely safe, have two sets of pans and baking sheets.
Other general tips:
Look for "hidden" sources. Many vitamins and medications can contain allergens in their additives – always check with your doctor and pharmacist to make sure they prescribe those that are safe. Some flavored coffee, tea and other beverages may contain a cereal protein, which contains gluten. When it comes to food or beverages, always read ingredient labels.